Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on google
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin

Speaker Mark-Viverito Announces Transition Team

January 29, 2014
By Stephanie West

 New York NY – New York City Council Speaker Melissa Mark-Viverito announced a transition committee yesterday which will help her build an experienced and progressive team as she begins her term as Speaker. The volunteer-based committee has representatives who from all over New York City and come from a diverse array of fields. The transition team will seek out qualified individuals from a wide range of communities and sectors.

"This committee will have a very simple goal, to help build a professional and experienced team that will reflect New York City and its values. It is an honor to have such a broad and diverse group of New Yorkers come together and I am looking forward to working with them in the weeks ahead.”

Dr. Una Clarke, Co-Chair – Former NYC Council Member, 40th District, Brooklyn
Rossana Rosado, Co-Chair – Former Editor, El Diario
Committee Members
Noilyn Abesamis-Mendoza – Dir., Health Programs, Coalition for Asian American Children & Families
Cira Angeles – President, LA Riverside Brokerage, Inc.
Ana Maria Archila – Co-Executive Director, Center for Popular Democracy
Don Mario Bosco – Counsel, Bosco, Ward & Nopar
Jose Calderon – President, Hispanic Federation
John Calvelli – Executive Vice President, Public Affairs, Bronx Zoo
Frank Carone – Partner, Abrams, Fensterman, Fensterman, Eisman, Formato, Ferrara & Wolf, LLP
Daniel Cassella – President, ATU Local 726
Humberto Cruz – Former Director, AIDS Institute of the New York State Department of Health
Francisco Diaz, Jr. – President, Los Higos Del Barrio HDFC
Soraya Elcock – Former Vice President for Strategic Initiatives, Harlem United
C. Virginia Fields – President & CEO, National Black Leadership Commission on AIDS
Kevin Finnegan – Political Director, SEIU 1199
Jennifer Hensley – Executive Director, Association for a Better New York
Jacqueline Huey – Former. Sr. Director of Revenue and Management, NYC HHC
Virginia Kee – Founding member, Chinese American Planning Council
Victor Kovner, Esq.  – Partner, Davis Wright Tremaine LLP
Hoong Yee Lee Krakauer – Executive Director, Queens Council of the Arts
Jenny Low – District Leader, 65th Assembly District
Marty Markowitz – Former Brooklyn Borough President
Devin Maroney – Deputy Political Director, New York Hotel and Motel Trades Council
Helen Marshall – Former Queens Borough President
Shahana Masum – Director, Bangladeshi American Advocacy Group
Brette McSweeney – Executive Director, Eleanor's Legacy
Suki Terada Ports – Former Executive Director, Family Health Project
Félix V. Matos Rodriguez – President, Hostos Community College
Allen Roskoff – LGBT Community Activist
Natalia Salgado – Deputy Political Director, 32BJ SEIU
Melissa Sklarz – Director, New York Trans Rights Coalition
Udai Tambar – Director, South Asian Youth Action
Javier Valdes – Co-Executive Director, Make the Road, NY

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on google
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Join Our Newsletter Today