Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on google
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin

32BJ SEIU NYC Endorsements

March 11, 2013
Around Town By Neal Tepel

New York City – Local 32BJ of the Service Employees International Union (SEIU) has announced major endorsements in Democratic primary races.
“All of these candidates have demonstrated a deep commitment to the working people of our city,” said Hector Figueroa, president of 32BJ. “Now more than ever New York City needs real champions of working families who will stand up to special interests who would deny workers good jobs that will bring them solidly into the middle class.”

32BJ, the largest property service union in the country with 70,000 members in New York City alone, endorsed State Sen. Jose Peralta for Queens Borough President and State Sen. Eric Adams for Brooklyn Borough President. “Senators Adams and Peralta have repeatedly stood up for working people – not only in their district, but all across the city,” said 32BJ President Hector Figueroa.  “All of the men and women we endorsed for City Council also have been powerful advocates for workers.

The endorsements come after it held screenings for candidates in virtually every race in the city. On March 2, some 400 union members listened to and questioned the candidates about their positions on issues affecting working families in New York.

A complete list of the union’s City Council endorsements is below. Endorsements in other races will be forthcoming.

Endorsements by borough 
District 2 Rosie Mendez*
District 3 Corey Johnson
District 4 Daniel Garodnick*
District 5 Micah Kellner
District 6 Marc Landis
District 7 Mark Levine
District 8 Melissa Mark-Viverito*
District 9 Inez Dickens*
District 10 Ydanis Rodriguez*
District 11 Andrew Cohen
District 12 Andy King
District 13 James Vacca*
District 14 Fernando Cabrera*
District 15 Ritchie Torres
District 16 Vanessa Gibson
District 17 Maria Del Carmen Arroyo*
District 18 Annabel Palma*
Borough President Jose Peralta
District 19 Austin Shafran
District 20 Peter Koo*
District 21 Julissa Ferreras*
District 22 Costa Constaninides
District 23 Mark Weprin*
District 24 Rory Lancman
District 25 Daniel Dromm*
District 26 Jimmy Van Bramer*
District 27 Daneek Miller
District 28 Ruben Wills*
District 29 Karen Koslowitz
District 30 Elizabeth Crowley*
District 31 Donovan Richards
District 32 Eric Ulrich*
Borough President Eric Adams
District 33 Stephen Levin*
District 34 Antonio Reynoso
District 36 Kirsten Foye
District 37 Rafael Espinal
District 38 Carlos Menchaka
District 39 Brad Lander*
District 40 Mathieu Eugene*
District 41 Darlene Mealy*
District 43 Vincent Gentile*
District 44 David G. Greenfield*
District 45 Jumaane D. Williams*
District 46 Alan Maisel
District 49 Deborah Rose*

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on google
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Join Our Newsletter Today